Scientific Review and Management Committees


The R2STOP initiative aims to provide an efficient, transparent and scientifically rigorous selection process of research projects according to priorities set in the R2STOP Research Policy. We seek to provide a high-quality, scientific monitoring mechanism of research project(s) that we support. We aim to  develop a platform to encourage collaboration and opportunities for the sharing and translation of knowledge among research grantees.

Management Committee:

  • Tom Gillis, (Committee Chair)
    Dr. Tom Gillis has spent a career studying the behaviour of M. leprae, the bacteria that cause leprosy. Based in New Orleans, Louisiana, Dr. Gillis is the R2STOP Committee Chair. In his role he will continue to champion research that will build a greater understanding of neglected tropical diseases transmission. Knowing such information could contribute to global elimination targets for these diseases.
  • Deborah Mensah-Awere, International Programs Manager, Policy and Research, effect:hope
  • Anna Wickenden, Director of International Programs, effect:hope (Committee Chair)
    Anna Wickenden is the Director of International Programs at effect:hope. She joined effect:hope in 2007 and was awarded her Masters degree in Gender and International Development from the University of Sussex in 2011. Since joining effect:hope, Ms. Wickenden has successfully managed institutional grants from CIDA and Irish Aid, and has facilitated Participatory Needs Assessments and Participatory Program Development and Monitoring and Evaluation Workshops in Bangladesh, Indonesia and West Africa. Currently Ms. Wickenden manages a Programs Team which consists of 5 staff who oversee a substantial programs portfolio in South East Asia and Sub-Saharan Africa with a focus on Research, Strengthening Health Systems, Activating and Equipping Communities and Ensuring People with Power play their part.
  • Ex-officio Members:

    • Peter Derrick, Executive Director, effect:hope
    • Ken Gibson, Executive Director,

Scientific Review Committee:

  • Steven Ault
  • Paul Saunderson
  • Erwin Schurr
  • Tom Gillis
  • Graham Medley
  • Peter Steinman